After twelve years of working at Christ Community Church, my time as an employee will come to an end. I leave with incredible gratitude and love for the people that make up CCC. It’s been an honor and joy to serve as a pastor here.

What’s next? A break. A rest. A sabbath. For awhile, I’ve sensed a stirring to move on to something else, but I’m not entirely sure what that is. However, my family has so many great relationships here at CCC (kids ministry, choir, and more) it’s not easy to leave. While I can’t recall verbatim how he put it, CCC Pastor Wendell Nelson talked to me about the Push/Pull Factor when I was sharing with him awhile back. “Sometimes we have to be pushed away from something to realize there is a pull on us to something else” So, if it’s not here (CCC), where might it be?

A friend suggested the idea of taking a break from work, if I was able to do so. He thought it might help to detach from work as I considered what’s next. Jana and I looked at our situation, thought and prayed about it, and felt at peace about the idea. Since we’ve made that decision, we’ve seen confirmation along the way.

I’ve had good conversations with a number of CCC leaders, staff, and people as I’ve shared with them about stepping away and taking a break. It’s encouraged me. I wish I could talk one-on-one with many of you!

September 1 will be my last day working at CCC. Until then, I will be working here doing what I normally do. Like in the spirit of Martin Luther, I’ll go “plant my tree”.

In the coming days and weeks I’ll be posting some reflections and stories from the past twelve years. Again, my family is grateful for CCC. It is hard to comprehend how God used the people of CCC to impact my family in a positive way.

Please pray for my family and me. Stepping out in faith, in this way, is nothing new to me. What is new is having a family as I do so. Here are few prayer requests:

  • Clarity. My family’s desire is to stay in Omaha, but we are open to anything. It could be ministry, it could be in the marketplace. My family and I have our preferences. Still, we want to enter this season open to whatever may come our way. I would like to know by the end of October what is next.
  • Provision. We will need to decide soon whether to stay on CCC’s health insurance policy via COBRA ($1600 a month for my family), or sign up for ACA (Obamacare). And, while we can take a break from work, there are always unexpected expenses. Recently, three of our four boys got retainers. Stuff like that comes up which makes it hard to budget/prepare for with this upcoming season. Prayers for provision, and wisdom with it!
  • Rest. My hope is this time can also be refreshing to Jana and me. While I am developing a routine for this season, I want it to be a time that can be good and refreshing for my family’s souls.

While I may not be as active on social media in the fall, I will post updates on social media and on my blog. I’m sure I’ll post other prayer requests as well in the coming weeks and months. Thank you for your prayers.

As J.R.R. Tolkien said in The Hobbit, “There is nothing like looking, if you want to find something. You certainly usually find something, if you look, but it is not always quite the something you were after.”

One thought on “End of a Chapter

Leave a Reply

