Have you seen About Schmidt? It stars Jack Nicholson as Warren Schmidt. Schmidt has just retired from his job and becomes aware of the seeming insignificance of his life. He starts supporting an orphan overseas, Ndugu, and writes letters to him. When writing the first letter to Ndugu he is often sidetracked because something triggers his anger. He writes his frustrations over his state in life to this six-year old orphan. Composing himself, he tries to get back to writing a sensible letter only to be triggered again into writing more frustration of his life into this letter to a six-year-old orphan. (Unfortunately, I cannot find a clip of this scene online. Here’s a script of the scene.)

Over the past few months I’ve stayed away from my blog. I’ve written a few things, and have them saved in my drafts folder, but have steered clear of posting anything. The posts I have written seemed to drift inevitably into my own personal frustrations with life and work. While I’m sure it would be entertaining to read random stream of consciousness about my frustrations in the middle of a post about some pop culture item, it wouldn’t be helpful!

It’s been a difficult year, but things are improving. After being in a holding pattern for much of the year, I feel like I’m finally moving forward. More importantly, I feel like I’ve been schooled in a number of topics that will help me, and hopefully others, as I move forward.

I’ve been attending Christ Community Church since March of 2004. I’ve been working at Christ Community Church in some capacity since April of 2005. I’m looking forward to seeing what’s next with Christ Community Church, and continuing to be a part of it. It is a great church.

I’m looking forward to sharing more in the coming weeks and months. And, I’m looking forward to reacquainting myself with blogging!

One thought on “Dusting Off The Blog

  1. I’m looking going to look forward to reading your blog, Rob. I love the work you do, and the prayerful consideration you offer people online. You are ministering to a broken world, and please don’t give up!

    Like

Leave a Reply

