Wow.

I’m trying to process the amazing day I’ve experienced, so far, and thinking of how I can put it into words. There’s no way. Words would somehow seem to cheapen the experience…and yet here I am trying. I don’t want the moment to pass without noting it to some degree.

I’ve had these days in the past. It’s nearing the end of the day and I just feel blessed beyond belief. I want to somehow capture the positive vibe pulsating throughout me, and bottle it up, so I can save it for later. Perhaps for myself, when it’s a bad day, or for someone else so they know this world can be good. Amazingly good.

If you read this blog regularly, you know of my fondness for Big Omaha. It’s been pivotal in my life and work. Today was the first full day of Big Omaha 2012, and so much of it for me was community. Friends, acquaintances and strangers sharing their stories with me, and me sharing with them my story. Engaging in each others life and work, and allowing someone you may not know to invest into you. Friendships and community are born, developed and strengthened.

In the midst of the afternoon, I had to pull away from Big Omaha to attend an event at Franklin Elementary. I’ve been involved with the 1st and 2nd Graders there through The Partnership For Our Kids (PFOK) program. Today was the last day of the school year I’d be there. Nine months ago I was debating whether or not to get involved with PFOK. This afternoon, I was a bit emotional about everything that has transpired. Playing a small part in students reaching their academic goals? Wonderful. I received lots of hugs, high fives, and a nice card from some of the students.

More blog posts to write about Big Omaha and The Partnership For Our Kids, but for now…rest.

Leave a Reply

