Pastor Tim Perry and I sit down to discuss the upcoming Gathering, The Gay Debate, in this Beyond The Message video. We are both excited about this event, even though we have no idea what to expect.

Andrew Marin, author of Love Is an Orientation, will be speaking at The Gay Debate. Andrew has been doing some amazing work in building bridges between the church and the GLBT community. (For a primer, I’d recommend this essay Andrew composed.)

Also in the video, Tim and I share some of our experiences within Christianity as it relates to the GLBT community. We also talk about the idea, definition and reality of love, and Jesus being grace and truth. Pardon me as I ramble at times. There’s a lot I want to say, but I’m trying to keep it condensed. I’ll save it for a future blog post.

The Gay Debate will be this Friday night, May 11, 2012, starting at 7 PM CST. It will be in the Student Center at Christ Community Church’s Old Mill Campus. We will also be streaming the event at CCCOmaha.tv.

Leave a Reply

