At the kitchen table sorting through baseball cards.

Ah, baseball cards. How much of my allowance went to buying up packs of Topps and Donruss cards from the local 7-Eleven when I was a kid? The way it was presented, baseball cards were an investment. Heck, instead of paying cash you could’ve just pulled out a Mark McGwire rookie card to pay for your purchases…or something like that.

Early on, though, it was just the fun of collecting cards and trying to get your favorite players or teams. One of the reasons I started following the Boston Red Sox was due to seeing on the back of a Wade Boggs baseball card that he was born in Omaha, NE.

The joy of collecting cards slowly evaporated over the years. All those cards I had that I thought were worth lots of money? Well, every collector had those same cards. The market for them crashed.

It became more expensive to collect cards, with companies doing all sorts of rare inserts and exclusives, and the return on investment wasn’t worth it.

When Liam and Duncan were both born, I bought a few boxes of cards and stashed them away. I had opened up Liam’s boxes of cards, and given them away awhile back. I had forgotten about Duncan’s boxes, though. I finally came across them, a few months ago, amidst the declining clutter of our cellar.

I wasn’t sure what to do with the two boxes of cards. It didn’t make much sense to hold on to them unopened. So, I brought them upstairs and opened them with Liam. (Duncan wasn’t interested.)

We separated out some of the cards, like the Yankees cards. Those I brought into work and gave to a coworker a few days later. A few others I set aside to give to my nephew. The rest? Liam just stacked them up and put them in a box. They’re all nicked up now, losing their mint condition status. Oh well. For Liam, the moment we had together opening them up and looking at them was wonderful. The moment was worth more than whatever the cards are valued to be.

For more about The RID Project, click here. To read previous updates, click here.

Leave a Reply

