Hungry for some ice cream? Apparently, I was over the years.

While I could continue to write about clothing I’m getting rid of, I think that would bore you. This post should be fun since it will be about ice cream.

I’m not sure when I started eating Ben & Jerry’s ice cream with fervor, but it was before Jana and I started dating. At some point, I started saving the various pint containers of Ben & Jerry’s flavors I had eaten. It started out with Phish Food and went from there.

It was easy to sit down and crush a pint of ice cream. Unfortunately, as I got older, it was still easy to sit down and crush a pint of ice cream.* It was fun trying the varying flavors that Ben & Jerry’s concocted. Each year brought new flavors into the fold.

*I just wish my metabolism kept up with my age.

Why collect empty pints of Ben & Jerry’s? I don’t know. Considering some of the other things people collect, it’s not that strange. Quirky? I’ll give you that. While I branched out and collected other Ben & Jerry’s stuff, it was always about the pints.

When I proposed to Jana, Ben & Jerry’s made an appearance.

Over the years, I’ve amassed quite a collection of pints. We Jana and I lived in an apartment in Arkansas, and in Omaha, we had the pints stacked on display in our kitchen. When we moved into our house, we stored them in a bag. They have remained in that bag since then. Well, we’ve added to the bag since then.

So, for the past few years I have been storing a garbage bag full of empty Ben & Jerry’s pints in my cellar. This is comical. What’s the point? There is none, other than having something interesting to say in conversations with people. “Do you know we have over 100 empty pints of Ben & Jerry’s in our cellar?” People smile and nod…and that’s it.*

*Well, that’s all I see. I’m sure some people are thinking, “The Murphys are crazy.”

Time to get rid (recycle) of the pints. Especially The Gobfather pint. I hated that flavor for some reason.

For more about The RID Project, click here. To read previous updates, click here.

BONUS

Favorite flavors (Usually, these flavors were limited batches, so I don’t have an overall favorite.)
Apple Crumble
Black & Tan
Bonnaroo Buzz (Jana’s favorite)
Festivus
From Russia With Buzz
Key Lime Pie
Peach Cobbler
Primary Berry Graham
Raspberry Peach Cobbler
S.N.A.F.U.
Strawberry (Organic)

Listing of pints (Some I had more than one of because the design changed over time.)
Aloha Macadamia
Americone Dream
American Pie
American Apple Pie
Apple Crumble
Banana Split
Berried Treasure (Sorbet)
Berry Voluntary
Black & Tan
Blueberry Cheesecake
Bonnaroo Buzz
Boston Cream Pie
Brownie Batter
Butter Pecan
Cake Batter
Cherry Garcia
Cherry Garcia (Lighten Up!)
Cherry Garcia (Low Fat Frozen Yogurt)
Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough
Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough (Body & Soul)
Chocolate Chip Cookie Dought (Light)
Chocolate Fudge Brownie
Chocolate Macadamia
Chocolate Therapy (Mood Magic)
Chubby Hubby
Chunky Monkey
Cinammon Buns
Clusterfluff
Coffee
Coffee (10% Bigger)
Coffee Heath Bar Crunch
Concession Obsession
Creme Brulee
Di’s Candy Drawer
Dublin Mudslide
Dulce Delish
Everything But The… (2 Twisted)
Festivus
From Russia With Buzz (2 Twisted)
Fudge Central
Fossil Fuel
Ginger Snap
Goodbye Yellow Brickle Road
Half Baked (Low Fat Frozen Yogurt)
Half Baked (2 Twisted)
Honey, I’m Home!
Imagine Whirled Peace
In A Crunch (Mood Magic)
Jamaican Me Crazy (Sorbet)
Jerry’s Jubilee (2 Twisted)
Kaberry Kaboom!
Karamel Sutra
Key Lime Pie
Late Night Snack
Magic Brownies
Makin’ Whoopie Pie
Maple Blondie
Marsha Marsha Marshallow
Milk & Cookies
Mint Chocolate Chunk
Mint Chocolate Cookie
Mission to Marzipan
Mud Pie
New York Super Fudge Chunk
Nutty Waffle Cone
Oatmeal Cookie Chunk
One Cheesecake Brownie
One Sweet Whirled
Peach Cobbler
Peanut Brittle
Peanut Butter Cookie Dough
Peanut Butter Cup
Peanut Butter Me Up
Peanut Butter Truffle
Peanut Butter World
Peanut Turtles
Phish Food
Phish Food (Frozen Yogurt)
Phish Food (Lighten Up!)
Phish Food 10th Anniversary
Pistachio Pistachio
Primary Berry Graham
Pumpkin Cheesecake
Raspberry Chocolate Chunk (Lighten Up!)
Raspberry Peach Cobbler
Red Velvet Cake
Schweddy Balls
S.N.A.F.U.
S’mores
S’mores (Low Fat Ice Cream)
Strawberries & Cream (Lighten Up!)
Strawberry (Organic)
Strawberry (No Sugar Added)
Strawberry Banana (FroYo)
Strawberry Cheesecake
Strawberry Kiwi Swirl (Sorbet)
Sweet Cream & Cookies
The Gobfather
This Is Nuts!
Triple Caramel Chunk
Turtle Soup
Uncanny Cashew
Vanilla
Vanilla (Light)
Vanilla (10% Bigger)
Vanilla (Organic)
Vanilla Caramel Fudge
Vanilla Heath Bar Crunch
Vanilla Swiss Almond
Vanilla Swiss Almond (Carb Karma)
Vermonty Python
Volu-Tiramisu
Wavy Gravy
World’s Best Vanilla

Leave a Reply

