After the last The RID Project post, I was inspired to take things a step further. Really, how many of my clothes can I get rid of today? I read about others who get rid of a majority of their wardrobe, why can’t I do the same? I’ve already done it with t-shirts and pants, what else can go?

I went through my closet, and dresser, and pulled more clothing items. Five more t-shirts, five ties, three long-sleeved collared shirts, two sweaters, and one turtleneck, polo and pair of shorts. Some of the clothes didn’t fit me well, and some I just don’t wear anymore.

Jana saw the pile of clothes and said, “You’re not going to have anything left to wear.” She then went to my side of the closet and saw that I did have a number of t-shirts and collared shirts left. I’ve given away a lot of shirts, I think I’m closing in on forty t-shirts, and still I have a number of clothing items in my closet. It’s nowhere near what I once had, and below average for a sizable portion of Americans.

Is it right or wrong? I don’t begrudge people having a large wardrobe. I would say it is wrong if they are spending themselves into debt while making sure their wardrobe is fashionable.

As I pursue minimalism, I’m trying to get by with less. As I get rid of more and more stuff, I realize how much more I want to get rid of. I’ve been glad I’ve been able to bless friends with some of the items I’ve given away. I’ve been grateful that Jana and I have been able to help out some local non-profit organizations with things we’ve given away.

I’ve also been troubled as I do The RID Project. I know how much I spent in acquiring all these things I’m now getting rid of. For most of it, it is money wasted. Plus, I’ve been in debt (which we are almost out of, thankfully) for a portion of these purchases. Paying interest on wasted expenses. That’s not a wonderful realization to have about one’s self. But do I just stay in that state and wallow in pity, or do I do something about it?

If you’ve been reading my blog the past few months, you know about other areas of my life where I’ve been challenged to step up and do more. (Part 1 and Part 2) I’ve been challenged to not to just give financially, but to give of myself.

Financially, though, I want to do more to help the world around me. Nearly 20% of children in Nebraska live in poverty. One in eight people around the world are drinking unclean water. One in seven people around the world go hungry. These statistics are only the tip of the iceberg. You can drown yourself in statistics and easily think there is no hope. If you can impact one life, though, that’s making a difference. I want to make a difference, a big difference.

I want my resources to go to worthwhile things, organizations and projects. I want to help people and empower them. I’m not going to adopt a poverty mentality with my finances. There will be moments where I splurge. Hopefully, though, I will make purchases that will be effective and efficient. If I can do more of that, I can do more to make a difference in the lives of others.

For more about The RID Project, click here. To read previous updates, click here.

Leave a Reply

