To find out more about The RID Project, click here. To read previous posts, click here.

I can vividly recall the feeling of when I received a Nintendo as a Christmas gift back in the sixth grade. The next few days were blissfully spent playing Metroid, The Legend of Zelda and Super Mario Bros. No more going over to someone else’s house just to watch them play Nintendo.

When I started dating Jana, one of the most interesting things I found out about her was she was a Nintendo fan. She’s a massive fan of the Super Mario Bros. games, and one of the best players. When I’ve mentioned this to guys, they usually roll their eyes. I then try and get them to play Jana in Super Mario Bros. just so they can get schooled by her, and they always are.

We are fans of Nintendo.

When Liam was born in November of 2006, the Nintendo Wii was getting ready to be released. I managed to secure a Nintendo Wii for her as a gift. I thought we’d have time to play it. And, we did, but it was always at the end of the day when we were tired. Or, we’d sometimes play while the boys were napping. This was fun, but Jana and I always had the thought we should be doing something else while we had the chance instead of playing Nintendo.

Soon, Liam was older and we thought he might like it. He did, but he didn’t know what he was doing really. He liked it, but he liked about anything as long as Jana and I were involved. Why force it?

Slowly, the controllers and games started to collect dust. You can tell from the picture that we didn’t fully utilize it since one of the nunchuk controllers I bought back in 2006 is still in its original packaging. Awesome purchase by me there.

The past two years we’ve used it more for Netflix than games. The boys haven’t even asked about playing games on it. As Jana and I have tried to simplify our lives, playing Nintendo was something that didn’t even enter into our minds. Would we still play it if we had time? Yes, but it doesn’t make sense to play right now in our stage of life.

Earlier in the year I made the decision to sell most of our Nintendo gear. I hadn’t gotten around to doing anything about it until recently. A coworker mentioned to me he was thinking about getting his son a game system, and I mentioned I was selling mine. It worked out for both of us. I was able to get rid of my Nintendo Wii for some money, and my coworker was able to get a great deal on a Nintendo Wii, and a number of games, as a Christmas gift for his son.

The Nintendo DS we have is packaged up and getting ready to be sold on eBay. The Nintendo Gamecube? No idea what to do with that. Perhaps give it to Goodwill.

Will Jana and I get a Nintendo in the future? It’s possible. Well, more probable than possible. The boys will want some sort of game system when they get older. Again, why force it now? They are all about Lego, not Nintendo. I’d rather nurture their creativity and imagination with Lego, drawing and other activities. Plus, it does no good to hold onto a Nintendo Wii until that day the boys want a game system. The Wii would be obsolete by then.

Someday I’m sure we’ll pick it back up, but for now we can be rid of a number of Nintendo products that are collecting dust in our house. We don’t feel the need to play any games, we have time devoted to things that are more important to our family, and we can get some money for the systems.

Leave a Reply

