The leaves are turning red, yellow, orange and brown. Lovely.

I’ve received a lot of condolences today, thanks to the epic collapse of the Red Sox. I find this amusing, but I can understand the sentiment. As the book (and British version of the film) Fever Pitch points out, people have relationships with their favorite teams that aren’t much different than relationships with their loved ones.

A number of things had to break the right/wrong way for the Red Sox to miss the playoffs, and they did. Tampa Bay is a team I can get behind. I hope they represent the American League in the World Series.

Speaking of Tampa Bay, one of the books I’m currently reading is The Extra 2%. It’s about the Tampa Bay Rays and how they built the organization into a contender. Some great history about the beginnings of the organization as well, and the history of baseball and Tampa Bay.

Of course, the media has labeled last night’s baseball games as the most thrilling ever. The Red Sox are the greatest chokers ever. Granted, the collapse was bad. It gets more play, because it was Boston. However, I’m partial to thinking the Yankees collapse in the 2004 ALCS was much worse.

Speaking of the Yankees… We are all entitled to our opinion. So, if you think Mariano Rivera is the greatest Yankee of the last 25 years, you are entitled to that opinion. And then I’m entitled to my opinion that thinks your opinion is idiotic. You take Mariano, and I’ll take Jeter. Next.

Really enjoyed the film version of Moneyball.

There was a lot of attention given to the recent execution of Troy Davis. There is a lot of evidence suggesting he is innocent of the crime he was convicted of two decades ago. It was an example of why the death penalty should be outlawed. The same night of his execution, another criminal was executed. That individual was Lawrence Brewer, who was white. He was convicted of killing James Byrd, a black man, by tying him up and dragging him behind his truck as he drove miles on gravel roads. It was a sickening and horrendous crime. Over the years, I’ve softened my stance in supporting the death penalty because of a number of guilty people later being found innocent. I’m saddened by such injustice. However, I also know that to be against the death penalty means individuals, like Lawrence Brewer, deserve advocacy as well.

Here’s some more thoughts about justice and reasonable doubt. I wrote this post after the not guilty verdict of Casey Anthoy.

It’s been enjoyable to read Liam and Duncan the Tintin books. The look of wonder on Liam’s face, especially when I showed him the teaser trailer for the upcoming film, was wonderful.

More to come…

Leave a Reply

