Since this past Sunday’s announcement of the launch of the Online Campus, and me as the Online Campus Pastor, I’ve heard nothing but positive comments from people. It’s been great. I’ve had a lot of people offer to help* with the Online Campus in some capacity, which is also a good thing. I’ve been responding to those interested in helping out, and emailing many more individuals who posted comments on Facebook, Twitter and Linkedin. It’s been awhile since I’ve done so much email correspondence. I like it, though, in this situation.

*By the way, if you want to get connected, or volunteer, with the Online Campus, just let me know!

While the announcement was this past Sunday, I started officially in the role on June 26. One of the biggest things I’ve noticed is I’m staying really busy during office hours. However, there are days I’m not sure my busyness is moving the Online Campus forward. I was talking to a friend of mine, Jeff Slobotski, about this. It’s easy for us to stay busy, but what are you really doing? Are you furthering your work/call? After our conversation, I found myself even more cognizant about it. I mentioned something to Steve Walters, Sarpy Campus Pastor, about busyness. He mentioned to me some things he does with his schedule which allow for those things that do come up, but he also brought up how he has days which he blocks out so he can focus in on his primary work.

It’ll probably take a few weeks to figure out a schedule/work flow, but once that happens I’m sure it’ll be easier to be more effective with my office hours. I want to get a jump on that, and establish good patterns and a right culture with the Online Campus from the outset.

So far, so good.

Leave a Reply

