Awhile back, I wrote about how I needed to schedule in times of margin. I needed to make sure I was having time to rest and be with family. Most importantly, I needed to make sure I was spending time with God by reading the Bible and praying.

In mid-February, I told Jana that the last two weeks of the month were going to be busy. However, it would calm down after that. Did that happen? Not really.

What’s been going on? The big things have been:

  • Research and plan for future multi-site (will post details about this soon)
  • Create and produce three videos
  • Handle social media for church
  • Launch online ad campaign for CCC Sarpy Campus
  • Pastoral duties
  • Prepare for Global Summit (Christ Community Church’s annual missions festival happening now)
  • Easter service/message preparation
  • Networking for future projects
This past Saturday, I was at church for a good portion of the day working on an installation we put in the Atrium. We needed to have it done by Sunday. I did manage to get home early evening, but I felt bad for my family. That morning, Liam had asked me if I was going to work that day. When I told him I was, he got sad.
Because of the past few weeks of busyness, and not being around as much as I’d like, I wanted to do something for the boys. It’s not something I normally do, but I ended up swinging by the toy store and buying them each a little toy.*
*Those small, cheap Lego sets are great, especially when you get a 20% off coupon by simply checking in on Foursquare.
I commented online that one of the reasons I look forward to baby #3 arriving because it will free me up from my work schedule. 
I find myself continuing to look at my schedule and carving out time for my family. Great things are filling up my time, but I don’t want my boys to be cynical to those things because they took me away from them.
Jana and I went on a date this past Friday night, which was good for us. Sunday night we had time as a family. Monday morning I had breakfast with the family before going into work. Little moments that make a big difference.
It’s always going to be busy. It’s always going to be busy with good stuff. Because of that, I have to make sure I set aside time for the things I value most. I also want to make sure that my life, my schedule, reflects what I value most: God and family.
I want to commend you also, Wormwood, on keeping the lowly human in a busy state of activity. By keeping him or her busy in various activities, they have little time to think; and therefore will neglect family and friends. By the time he or she reaches the end of their life, it will be too late to do the really good and decent things. And, that’s exactly what makes our line of work, wonderful and so fulfilling!
-Uncle Screwtape, The Screwtape Letters by C.S. Lewis

Leave a Reply

