Previous Hatter’s Dozen posts: Introduction, Media, Twitter, Joe Posnanski, Top Posts, Curry Fries & Mayo, Work Projects and Favorite Posts.

A look back on the people that influenced and impacted my life in 2010.

Previously on the Hatter’s Dozen: People
12. Dr. Jerry Root
11. Losties
10. KANEKO
9. Tony Hsieh
8. Roddy Chong
7. Joshua Becker

I don’t think most people, at Big Omaha, had any idea what was in store when Scott Harrison took the stage to speak this past May. I remember the silence while he shared, and then the eruption of applause when he finished.

While the topic of charity: water was great to hear about, Scott’s life, story, branding and execution of all that impacted me more. Don’t get me wrong, I’m a lot more cognizant about water because of Scott. I find myself conserving water more and more when I shower, brush my teeth and do other things around the house. Does it make a difference? Well, it’s made a difference in me. I’m aware of the blessing I have in clean water, and I find myself praying more for people, especially children, who don’t have it.

Watching Scott deliver his presentation was amazing. He didn’t shrink from his story, but rather embraced it. He allowed God to work in him and use it for good. While he was living a new way, he didn’t cut himself off from people in his past. He leveraged those friendships for good, and along the way deepened the level of friendship he had with them. He understood the need for excellence in brand, marketing, and presentation, realizing that in the non-profit organizations miss out on people donating resources because of bad design.

Scott’s story about how he was a former nightclub promoter, with $40,000 debt, now being used to champion clean water around the world is amazing. It’s challenging and inspiring. What can we be doing with our lives? What can I be doing? I’ve asked myself that a few times. I don’t want to get complacent in my faith.

Since Scott started charity: water, over 1.7 million people have received clean water. Unfortunately, almost 1 billion people do not have access to clean water. He’s not giving up in the face of it. Scott hopes to charity: water can bring clean water to 100 million people by 2020. An audacious goal some would say, but worthwhile.

I’m hoping and praying he exceeds the goal.

Click here to read my notes from Scott Harrison’s presentation at Big Omaha.
Click here to watch Scott Harrison’s presentation.
Click here to read more of my thoughts on Scott Harrison and the church.
Click here to go to the charity: water website.

Leave a Reply

