Previous Hatter’s Dozen posts: Introduction, Media, Twitter, Joe Posnanski, Top Posts, Curry Fries & Mayo, Work Projects and Favorite Posts.

A look back on the people that influenced and impacted my life in 2010.

Previously on the Hatter’s Dozen: People
12. Dr. Jerry Root
11. Losties

I first experienced KANEKO in May of 2009 when Big Omaha was happening there, but it wasn’t till later that year that I think I got a full taste of what KANEKO is all about. Nicholas Kristof was speaking at KANEKO as part of their Great Minds Series. It was a wonderful evening listening to one of the best and thought-provoking writers in America.

The type of intimacy within KANEKO to experience and listen to an expert in their field was phenomenal. I found myself scanning their calendar to see what was upcoming. Even if I never heard of the speaker, if my schedule allowed I usually tried to get down to KANEKO for their Great Minds Series.

Throughout 2010 I made sure to get down to KANEKO for a number of events.

What was the impact and influence? Well, I learned a lot through all the speakers and events I attended at KANEKO. I was inspired and challenged. And, I enjoyed the people I met there who were also in attendance. I never regretted attending an event at KANEKO.
One of the personal highlights of 2010 was getting the chance to sit down and talk with Josh Cooley about Pixar and the creative process. I also had the opportunity to talk with Enrique Martinez Celaya and Dennis Crowley of Foursquare. Those kind of personal conversations aren’t happening anywhere else in Omaha.
I’m already looking forward to what’s on tap at KANEKO in 2011. For example, Greg Mortenson.
Click here to read my post about Relationships 2.0?.
Click here to read my post about Enrique Martinez Celaya.
Click here to go to posts about Big Omaha.
Click here to read my post about Josh Cooley.
Click here to read the transcript of my conversation with Josh Cooley.
Click here to read my post about Joan Acocella.

Leave a Reply

