Previous Hatter’s Dozen posts: Introduction, Media, Twitter, Joe Posnanski, Top Posts, Curry Fries & Mayo, Work Projects and Favorite Posts.

Previously on the Hatter’s Dozen: People
12. Dr. Jerry Root

When 2010 began, one of the things I was looking forward to was the final season of Lost. I had been watching the show since it first premiered back in 2004, and probably became a dedicated fan, a “Lostie”, after the fourth episode of the show.*

*A Locke-centric episode which still remains my favorite of the series.

In the latter part of 2009, I started communicating a lot with other Losties. I held a contest for Lost fans, and it was an enjoyable experience. I heard from a number of fans why they liked the show. More than that, they would tell me some of their own story as well. (Click here to read some of the contest entries, and click here to read the winning entry and my post about it as well.)

Partly due to the experience with the contest, at some point I decided to blog the final season of Lost. The impact of that decision was immediate. Losties descended upon the blog to read what I was writing. I was continually asked for my thoughts about the final season. The day after an episode premiered, I could count on “regulars” who would ask for my take on the show.

Was there anything insightful in what I was writing? I don’t know, but I wrote from the perspective of most other Losties which helped. The perspective of a passionate fan that took great joy in the tiniest of details. Because of that, Losties were sharing with others about my blog and the recaps I was writing. If you read this blog, you know how I appreciated encouraging messages I’d receive from fans about what I wrote.

People came to the blog to read my recaps, but then they’d check out other posts I wrote about my life, work and other interests. Some were surprised at my background and what I did for a living. The cool thing was I’d get prayer requests from Losties about something they were dealing with. We’d talk about life, faith and God.

The series ended, and I was disappointed with the finale, but I still had a great experience with a number of fellow fans. I still chat with them online. The impact they had on my life this year was tremendous.

Some have asked if I’ll do recaps again. I’d like to, but it’s a matter of time and finding the right show. I tried to with Caprica, but my schedule got busy and I didn’t pick it back up. I would like to go back and pick favorite Lost episodes and write a recap, but aren’t there a lot of things we’d like to do if we had all the time in the world? We’ll see what happens.

Thanks to fellow Losties. You were a reason 2010 was memorable for me. “Namaste”.

Click here for all posts tagged with “Lost Recap”.

Leave a Reply

