Recovery from the weekend…

Let’s get the obvious out of the way. Yes, most Husker fans would agree “it’s just a game”. It doesn’t take away from the sting of the Huskers losing to Texas in new and cruel ways. Like one person told me at church yesterday, “The season is a loss, as far as I’m concerned, since we lost to Texas.” I think many would agree.

You know you are a college football mad state when the day after a Huskers loss the pastor preaching in the service references the game. “I didn’t realize it would be a miracle for our receivers to catch a football”. Amen.

Husker fans are feeling what Kansas State fans felt recently. You don’t always get the happy ending you wanted to the story.

I find it comical that a few people in the area would complain about people not attending their event during a Huskers game. Not only a Huskers game, but one of the biggest games in recent memory. Texas vs Nebraska in Lincoln, NE. Really? Are you that out of touch with the city, state and its culture? What did you think? Of course, you get the smug replies of, “Well, college football just doesn’t mean that much to me. I’m more concerned about important matters.” Or, “Where I’m from, it’s just a game.” Congratulations. Here’s a gold star and a cookie for you. Whether you like it or not, it’s the reality for 90% of the state. Most people in this state are going to stop what they are doing and follow the Huskers game. Whether you want to work with that or not is up to you, but don’t act surprised when attendance is low for your event that you scheduled during a Huskers game. Especially when it’s a game of magnitude like it was this past Saturday.

Speaking of college football, I found this article about agents paying players insightful. (click here to read)

I’ve been pleasantly surprised by the response to my recent post about using Keynote. I’m planning on writing a follow-up to it.

Right now at work, I’m working on two videos that I’m writing and producing. One is a music video that will play at the Christmas services. The other is a video about noise and how it gets in the way of us connecting with God and others.

Lots of good things happening at work. In the firstfruits offering for Double Your Impact, 1.7 million dollars came in to start the campaign. Awesome. That’s almost 20% of the goal for the campaign. Some projects can start right away, like the remodel of the Student Center. I’ve been helping a little bit with that, since the remodel affects the server room. (And I am the point person for all things IT at work.) It will also help the launch of the new campus at the Douglas County Jail, which is exciting.

I’ve been battling congestion for a long time. I’m hoping not to be soon. If not, I’ll make a trek to an ENT clinic.

Last week, Duncan told Jana that he loves God, and he learned how to do a Darth Vader impression. For some reason, that combination makes me smile in a multitude of ways.

Looking forward to the first snowfall.

Thanks again, Amsterdam (Anne & Phil), for the food and fellowship.

Leave a Reply

