Me giving an introduction about baby dedications. Photo by Koob Vang

On August 29, I had the joy of doing baby dedications. I did twelve and it was a lot of fun. (Even when I was spit up on!) It is a privilege to be a part of this moment with these families. A number of them were friends with Jana and me. One of the children’s mothers was a high school classmate of mine. (Small world.) Jana and I were able to talk with a number of families ahead of time, and hearing their stories were amazing. One story was almost unbelievable.

When Nicky Holtam shared her story with me about her adopted son Micah, I couldn’t even comprehend it at first. Nicky has been telling people the story, and I shared it at the dedication. I wove Micah’s history into this dedication.

Here’s what Nicky messaged me about Micah.

We became foster parents in hopes of adopting that way….Micah was born 6-17-08 to the name of Conrad Victor for ‘convict’  we took him home from the NICU at 3 weeks old where he remained with us this entire process.  He was born to a Meth addicted teenager and a father who is imprisoned for trying to kill his mother while she was 5 months pregnant with Micah….his mother relinquished her rights after about a year and a half and the adoption process began.  He was adopted on March 17th 2010 as Micah Esteban Holtam. Ryan and I feel sooo humbled and blessed that God chose OUR family to be a part of his intervention for Micah.  This boy has been prayed for desired and loved more than words can express.  We are thrilled to be publically sharing our devotion to grow him God’s way in our family!

Crazy and amazing at the same time.

Here’s what I shared and prayed with Micah’s dedication.

Micah means Who Is Like God
Esteban means Crowned

In Genesis chapter 17, verses 5 and 6, it says, “No longer shall your name be called Abram, but your name shall be Abraham, for I have made you the father of a multitude of nations. I will make you exceedingly fruitful, and I will make you into nations, and kings shall come from you.”

Micah Esteban, I pray that you are like Abraham who was pulled from another land and chosen by God to be a blessing to the world. May your life bless generations to come. And as we are all children of God, this makes you the son of a king, a prince. May you be like your kingly Father in Heaven here on Earth.

Hearing Micah’s story brought to mind so many things. The displays of love, grace and mercy, the realization that a number of kids in Micah’s situation aren’t as fortunate, understanding that these children have the future before them and can go in so many different directions, the knowledge that as parents we can’t do it alone in raising children.

I spent more time than I anticipated preparing for the dedications, but it was rewarding. I look forward to doing it again. I look forward to meeting other families and hearing their stories. More so, I look forward to tracking these twelve children I dedicated and seeing what happens in their lives.

Leave a Reply

