It continues to stay busy, but it’s been enjoyable with the projects and events I’ve been involved with lately.

A week and a half ago, Johnny Cupcakes came through Omaha on his Back To Basics: Suitcase Tour. It was a fun event to go to at Nomad Lounge. A lot of locals may not be familiar with Johnny and his brand, but it’s great he chose to come through Omaha on his tour. People from Kansas City and Des Moines came here to see him.

The day Johnny Cupcakes came through, April 28, was a great day when it came to news for Omaha and me. It was confirmed that Trader Joe’s was putting a store in Omaha, and I received word I would be receiving my degree from college.

I blogged about the symmetry between Johnny Cupcakes and me. You can read the post by clicking here.

Last weekend, I had the opportunity to attend Berkshire Hathaway’s annual shareholder meeting. One of those local events I’m glad I could finally attend. Who knows how much longer Warren Buffett and Charlie Munger will be dispensing economic advice in that kind of forum. I posted my thoughts, and a number of my notes, from the event, which you can read by clicking here.

Of course, my lasting memory from the Berkshire Hathaway meeting may be meeting Boston Red Sox Owner, John Henry.

Last Sunday, I coordinated a grilling demo in front of Christ Community Church. This was in conjunction with the Jesus/the man series. We’d been doing a variety of demos throughout the series with mixed results. The Monday before this demo, I had said in a meeting we should grill out steaks in-between services since meat was going to be a topic in the message. After I voiced the idea, Nick Kelly (my boss) told me to make it happen. Not a problem, except I don’t really grill and have never prepared steaks for a couple hundred people. Throughout the week, it was great to see aspects of the demo fall into place. The demo itself was a huge success, going beyond my own best expectations. A great group of volunteers, coworkers, friends and my wife, were the reason it was a success. (Thanks!)

This past week I’ve been producing a video of the Middle School and High School Student Ministries at CCC. Interviewing the students for the video has been a treat. They’re a great representation of the ministry, CCC, their leaders, their parents, and of their faith. The video will play next Sunday.

I also started co-leading a study of Tim Keller’s Counterfeit Gods over the lunch hour on Wednesdays. While the title of the book may conjure other religions, the subject matter covers modern day idols of money, power, sex and more. It’s one of the best books I’ve read in awhile.

Next week? Big Omaha. You might recall it was on my list of ten things I’m looking forward to in 2010. Expect a number of Big Omaha related posts in the coming days. I already started with a quick post about Jason Fried, one of this year’s speakers.

I started tweaking the blog, a few days ago, and will continue to do so. This should improve the experience for you. One of the main redesigns is not having the entire post on the main page anymore. Unless it is a short post, or a video, a post will only have an excerpt on the main page. This was long overdue, especially with the Lost posts I’ve been writing. It will not affect posts if you subscribe to the blog.

And, I wrote another Lost post. 7,000 words, and I detail, quite possibly, my least favorite scene in the series of the show.

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

