So, earlier in the day I heard about the Yankees recording a triple play. Baseball writer Keith Law joked on Twitter, “A true Yankee records all three outs himself”. Right away, I knew Alex Rodriguez was involved in the play since he is always accused of not being a “true Yankee”. I found the tweet funny.

I retweeted the line, and added my own remark to it. “Somewhere in the Bronx a Yankee fan nods his head in agreement”.

As soon as I sent it, I realized that some random person could consider my tweet sexist since I used the gender specific word “his” in my tweet. I thought to myself, “I should’ve said ‘their’ instead of ‘his'”.

However, I then thought it’s mostly men that say these remarks about Alex Rodriguez not being a “true Yankee”. How often have I heard a woman concerned about Alex Rodriguez not being a “true Yankee”?

BUT, I then remembered one of my female coworkers, who is a diehard Yankees fan, saying Alex Rodriguez is not a “true Yankee”. Busted.

So, I apologize for not using a gender neutral term, in my tweet, when I echoed the remark about Alex Rodriguez not being a “true Yankee”. Men AND women do agree about this.

(By the way, the whole idea of a “true Yankee” and a “fake Yankee” is laughable.)

Leave a Reply

