Well, last week I spent most of my time catching up on everything at work. I thought I was in a good spot, and then the blizzard hit Tuesday. I missed a day and a half of work. Granted, I did some work from my living room, but it’s hard to be efficient when your two sons want you to play. (And, I want to play with them!)

Back to work, yesterday, and I worked non-stop on this weekend’s event, A Case For Christmas. Lee Strobel is coming in to speak, and I’ve been tasked to do two things for the event. Promote it online, and produce a video intro for the event.

I was asked to do the video intro because I’m “funny and a good writer”. While that’s nice, the project had me concerned. They wanted a funny intro, with my stamp on it, but when I’ve done this in the past I’m usually asked to make the script “cheesy” so everyone can get the humor of it.

I showed the final cut earlier, to Mark (the Lead Pastor), and he was laughing throughout the video intro. A good sign. Granted, he’s a good friend of Lee Strobel so it’s probably funnier to him than most. I’ll be curious to see how the crowd responds to it this weekend. (I do manage to work in a fail-safe joke in case the video elicits yawns.)

The event is trending well online, besting the Cal Thomas event CCC hosted last month. Part of the fun, for me, is guessing which keywords to use with an online ad. For instance, with Google I have over eighty different keywords and phrases that will trigger the Lee Strobel event ad on its search results pages. (The ad only comes up on people using Google in the Omaha metro area.) The number one term for impressions (term for how many times the ad comes up in Google search results) is the word “christmas”. The number two term for impressions is “Ndamukong Suh”. Yep, I know Omaha, NE demographics fairly well. (It’s not brain surgery.)

(If you’re wondering who Ndamukong Suh is, you can click here.)

Finding what keywords create the most impressions and clicks, and getting them at an effective cost, is a bit of a game.

I also created three ads to run on Facebook. While I can’t track which keywords drive the most internet traffic, I’m still fascinated by the stats of the ads. (I think Facebook has a much greater ROI than Google when it comes to our demographics.) It’s always nice to know that people that like Twilight will come across the ad at some point.

The $64,000 question is, “Will this event be any good?” Yes. The last time Lee Strobel spoke at CCC, I was surprised how much I enjoyed it. I didn’t think it would be bad, but I was a bit cynical with another “The Case For…” book being authored by him. We recorded an interview with him on a Saturday night, and he spoke Sunday morning in the services. He couldn’t have been more gracious and kind. He was polished as a speaker. He had a knack of making difficult ideas understandable, and his teaching points were practical. His time here was great for CCC.

I’m looking forward to hearing him speak again. Those of you in the Omaha area, I think you’d enjoy the event as well. You are more than welcome to come!

Here’s a video clip of him the last time he spoke at CCC.

Leave a Reply

