At this point, it shouldn’t be surprising that it never stops being busy. What’s been going on? Well, I’ve been working on a bumper video for the upcoming series on the life of King David, Where is God when?. The busy part of producing the video has been learning new software to produce it. The software is Motion, which is similar to Adobe’s After Effects.

A little over a week ago I wasn’t sure I could get the video done in time. The first video plays this Sunday and I had been asked to produce a new video for every message in the twelve week series. I was having a hard time learning the software, which was frustrating for me. Why? I’ve been self-taught with pretty much everything I know when it comes to computer hardware/software knowledge. I can usually pick up a rudimentary understanding of new software so I can use it right away. That wasn’t the case this time. I was mentally flailing about when trying to use the software at first. I’d get angry when something wouldn’t go the way I expected with the software, and then pound my desk. I wasted a lot of hours repeating the same mistakes with the software. Plus, I had the good/bad fortune of Willow Creek’s Leadership Summit taking place in the midst of trying to learn the software.

I started asking people to pray for my understanding of the software. Last Monday, a few days after asking people to pray, I had a breakthrough with my understanding of the software. Since then, my work on the bumper video has been great and it shouldn’t be a problem for me to produce the videos throughout the series.

While that’s been going on, I’ve also been working with Jay Castillo to produce a different video for the upcoming series. It’s a video I wrote a script for, and Jay will be directing it. It centers around King Saul and his jealousy issues. It’s suppose to be humorous, so we’ll see how that goes. One of the goals I was told was to make it funny and understandable for a student in junior high. My first draft was ten pages, but my final draft is five pages. Some good stuff cut out, but that’s life. Should be a good piece, especially with Jay at the helm of the video.

Life is busy, but good. Thanks to those of you who’d been praying for me regarding learning the software. It made a difference.

Leave a Reply

