Today, I followed up with some college students that I first met earlier in the week. I was glad to see again the girl, who asked me about the virgin birth of Jesus, want to talk some more with the team. I asked her if my answer to her previous question made any sense. She said she appreciated my in-depth answer because, in her words, she isn’t a Christian and has many questions that she doesn’t know who to ask.

She then asked me another question, “When you pray to God what do you imagine God looks like?” (You know, easy question being asked here.) I think I did well in my response to the question about what God looks like, quoting extensively from Exodus. We talked some more about it, each sharing what we envision when we pray. I asked her if she had any more questions, and she laughed a bit. She said she did, but didn’t want to ask. She felt bad for asking the questions. (A Chinese thing I noticed when I first did a cultural exchange here on my first trip. In most classrooms it is uncommon for the students to ask questions.)

Later, I met with a guy who wanted to know about God and angels. What are angels? Where are they? Are they the same thing as God? And what had piqued his interest in God and angels? The movies “City of Angels” and “Ghost”. Once that came out into the open I asked him if he was familiar with Jesus. He wasn’t, so I proceeded to give a brief synopsis of Jesus, his life and death, and why his life and death were necessary. In the process of trying to explain Jesus I asked him if he was familiar with the Bible, and he wasn’t. So, I talked to the guide with us and we are going to get him a Bible.

So, now knowing his entire understanding of God is based on two films, I explained to him the importance of reading the Bible. I told him the Bible had answers to many of his questions and pointed him to passages to read.

Growing up in America, everyone has a rudimentary understanding of God and Christianity. That isn’t the case over here. It’s why these questions come up. They are sensible questions, but they are questions that aren’t normally asked, in America, because we grow up with the tenets of Christianity in our culture.

Plus, the students sometimes get frustrated because they can understand your English so much better than they can express themselves in English. However, we managed to do well today. Whenever we did have a tough time with the translation we just had the guide help out.

It’s amazing what God can use to generate interest in Him. And, I did like aspects of how angels were portrayed in “City of Angels”.

Another great day. Tomorrow is our last full day. Where did the week go?

Leave a Reply

