One year ago I joined Twitter, and I’m not entirely sure how it came about. I do know that after I joined I learned a lot from watching Scott Henderson, my brother-in-law, tweet. (@scottyhendo) At first, I wasn’t sure what I was doing, but I picked it up from following others and getting comfortable with it. When did it take off for me? Don’t know, but here are some Twitter stats on my “twirthday”.

  • Over 90% of users have less than 100 followers.
  • 21% of accounts are just empty placeholders. No one has ever tweeted on the account, but it is registered. An example would be @robertmurphy or my boss’s account @capsicin.
  • 50% of users are not active. They tweet less than 1 time a week.
  • Over 60% of users are based in United States.
  • Over 70% of users joined in the first 5 months of 2009.
  • 5% of users account for 75% of Twitter’s activity.

(stats courtesy of Sysomos)

I’ve thoroughly enjoyed Twitter. I’ve been able to connect with people, in my field of work, here in Omaha and across the US. Some of the conversations I’ve had have been fun and enlightening. Some of my favorite moments? Tweeting the Super Bowl with thousands of others, the lead-up to Big Omaha, conversations about the show Lost and Battlestar Galactica, answering questions for people across America, and so much more.

Some may wonder, “Who would actually follow Robert on Twitter?” Good question. As of today, I have 373 followers and here’s a word cloud of their bios, courtesy of TwitterSheep. And what am I saying in my tweets? Well, TweetPsych analyzed my tweets and provided this feedback.

More useless info. How good am I at Twitter? Well, Twitter Grader says I score a 95.6. (whatever that means) The value of my Twitter profile is $406. And, here are some graphs that track my Twitter usage. (click here and here)

I had 9 followers on September 25, 2008, 175 followers on March 22, 2009, and today 373.

The only downside to the recent Twitter explosion is the upswing in spam, which adds noise to the conversations, but if that’s part of the deal now that’s fine. Through apps like Tweet Deck I can filter out a lot of the noise in the conversations.

And, if you aren’t already, you can follow me on Twitter by clicking here.

Leave a Reply

