Well, today I finished up principal production on the special Kingdom Color podcast that details Omaha’s civil rights history. My boss listened to it this afternoon and liked what he heard. There will be a few tweaks I’m sure, but for the most part it is done. It’s been a blessing to work on the past month, but hopefully it blesses the people that listen to it.

Because of the amount of work that has gone into the project I’ve let some of my blog writing slide. That will be rectified in the coming days as I head to China, but before that I want to hit on a number of things that I wish I could’ve elaborated on more over the past month. (Even more I wanted to put here but didn’t.) Some links to related articles are also provided if you want to read more.

  • I’m happy that Boston Red Sox pitcher Tim Wakefield finally earned his first All-Star appearance this season at age 42. He’s become one of my favorite Red Sox players during his time with Boston. (click here)
  • Who knows what Sarah Palin is really up to with her quitting…I mean, her *resignation*. I wasn’t buying what she was saying in her speech this past Friday. I know she has a loyal following, but there is no way she gets the GOP nomination in 2012. (click here)
  • The GOP is bizarre of late with Palin and of course the antics of Gov. Mark Sanford.
  • The homicide of former NFL player Steve McNair is sad, but in listening to commentators I find it somewhat disappointing that no one wants to directly address the situation that got him murdered. People just want to focus in on the player and not the person, because the details of his death aren’t pretty and no one wants to “judge”, but I wonder what his wife and kids think. Yeah, everyone makes mistakes. I get that. Does anyone have any consideration for his family, though, beyond lip service? Everyone is lauding Steve, but from the information out there it would seem his murder could have been prevented. People are honoring and lauding him for his football prowess, but is that all there is in life? Is being a “warrior” football player more important than being a devoted husband and father? Of course not. I wonder if his wife and kids care at all that their dad was a “warrior” on the football field, like everyone else wants to talk about. They’d probably take having their dad back even if it meant he wasn’t a “warrior”. Regardless, it’s a sad story all around. Perhaps news will come out that puts Steve McNair in a better light. That would be nice, but I think that is just a hope of most right now.
  • Whenever US soccer gets some publicity it seems some people always knock it as a secondary sport. Yeah, tell me something I don’t know. I don’t think soccer is ever going to surpass football and baseball in America, but it definitely has increased its viability here. More Americans are now following international and professional soccer abroad, MLS has a following, and there’s no reason to think it can’t carve out a bigger place for itself in the American sports landscape.
  • There are a number of movies I’m looking forward to seeing, like Alice in Wonderland and Sherlock Holmes.
  • Battlestar Galactica is one of my favorite shows ever, and one of the reasons why is Bear McCreary. (click here)
  • It was kind of amusing to read this article about people in Kansas City being concerned about being passed in population and relevance by Omaha. Sure, some of the quotes were planted, and Omaha has a long way to go before passing the KC metro area in population, but it is nice to see Omaha get more and more positive press. (click here)
  • It was fun to go to two College World Series games a few weeks ago. The Arizona State-Texas game was one of the best games I’ve ever seen. It will be hard to top the 1996 CWS championship I watched live, though. (click here and here)
  • My second favorite baseball team? The Royals, who I thought would be better than what they have been. Perhaps if I would have followed them more closely over the years I wouldn’t have been surprised by their play. (click here)
  • Sammy Sosa used steroids? Alex Rodriguez isn’t performing like he was before it came out he used steroids? Wow. In other news, grass is green, the sky is blue and water is wet. (click here and here)
  • I’m not sure why the Celtics pursued Rasheed Wallace and not Trevor Ariza. I don’t think it helps their prospects next season and beyond. Then again, sometimes it takes luck in winning the title. It happened with the Celtics last year, and it happened with the Lakers this year. Don’t understand? (click here)

Leave a Reply

