Ah the humidity. Nothing like getting out of your car and having your glasses fog up like you’re in a rainforest. Dry heat, wet heat…all the heats suck.

I’m gearing up for a trip to China. I head out Friday morning and will be back in a little over a week. Trip 8. The team I’m taking over has me enthusiastic about the trip. I like going regardless, but the participants on this team have me feeling like it’s my first time all over. Their excitement is contagious. I hope to be able to provide them the best possible experience I can.

At work I’m currently working on three video scripts for an upcoming sermon series. It’s been fun. After writing the first script and talking it through with my bosses I’m rewriting it. I think it’s better now, but also I have a better understanding of what is wanted with it. I’ll document more on this later.

I was at The Simpsons midnight premiere awhile back. The movie was good, but not great. The first act of the film is gold, but it kind of flatlines after that. The rest of the film didn’t seem to warrant an adaptation to the big screen. Personally, I would have liked to have seen more interaction with the vast characters of Springfield, but maybe that will happen with the sequel. The memorable part of the night may have been before the movie started where the crowd was chanting and batting around four beach balls. Some high-school students brought the beach balls in and were yelling at people who weren’t hitting them up in the air. The crew I was with, coworkers from CCC, realized that the student instigators of the rowdiness were in the Student Ministry at CCC. Way to represent there boys!

Now the new Harry Potter film, Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix, I thought was the best film adaptation yet of a Harry Potter film. This was ironic to me because I had the lowest expectations for this film going in. I have hope for the last two films and I dearly hope that the last film is split into two films to do it justice.

Even if I’m skeptical about the Celtics moves, I do love the idea of Kevin Garnett donning the leprechaun jersey. I was already looking up how much it cost to buy a Celtic, Kevin Garnett t-shirt. Now the day the trade became official the Red Sox traded for one of the best closers in recent history, Eric Gagne. Once again, the sports world either loved or hated Boston. Getting Gagne just solidified the bullpen and made Boston the favorite to get back to the World Series in the American League.

Boston has a key three-game series starting with the Angels tomorrow. Not only do the division leaders square off, but Curt Schilling returns to action. He’ll start tomorrow’s game.

One of these years I’ll make the pilgrimmage out to the San Diego Comic-Con. This year would have been great with forums on LOST, Battlestar Galactica, Iron Man, Heroes, the soon-to-be JJ Abrams directed Star Trek and much, much more. It would have been great to have seen this clip live at the LOST forum.

Before I head out to China I’ll have more posts from my Seattle trip and new links to share.

Later…

Leave a Reply

