I interviewed for a job this past weekend. The prospects were promising. The organization had approached me about applying and were extremely excited about the possibility of me working there. During the interview, this past Saturday, I gave the best interview I could. The two people interviewing me seemed excited about me working with them. Other people in the organization were saying off hand comments about how they wanted me to work there. So, of course, I didn’t get the job.

I found this out last night. You put a brave face on to everyone else, but when you are alone you ponder what happened. My faith in God is not shaken, but there are questions I have. Those questions may remain unanswered, though. Everything in my life, over the past few months, seemed to point to me getting this job. So, is this some process God wants me to go through, or did I, or the organization, completely miss the point? Before finding out if I got the job I prayed the God would speak to the organzation about my potential employment. I just have to walk in confidence that God answered that prayer. It doesn’t alleviate the sting the day after, and it doesn’t make sense of the process.

One of the main reasons I didn’t get the job was because I was over-qualified. The organization thought the role I was applying for might be limiting to me. Maybe so, but I was excited to work with a team of like-minded individuals who were passionate about something that I was as well. We’ll see what happens. I hope and pray that the person that does fill the role does an exceptional job.

As for me? Well, I did have class this morning but I skipped because my mind was not in the mood to try and figure out Spanish. I’m allowing myself today for pity and self-loathing, but then it is back to the grind of life. I actually don’t feel too bad. There are some unaswered questions, but that is life. I’m here at Crane Coffee trying to enjoy a sportea. It isn’t the greatest thing, but it is an all-natural tea so it should be good for me. Right? Before that I was buying The Office season 2 on dvd. My wife and I received late Christmas gifts, from her parents yesterday, and one of my gifts was a gift certificate to Borders. Borders being the ones that charge $29.99 a month for access to their wireless internet in their cafes.

More later…

Leave a Reply

